Gerald E. Bruce Award

The Gerald E. Bruce Award was established to recognize Ford Alumni who have unselfishly worked to better their communities. Gerry Bruce was an original member of The Ford Family Foundation Board of Directors. He was a risk taker and a very involved citizen of Douglas County. After his death, this award was established in his memory to recognize Ford Alumni who are community leaders and who exhibit loyalty to the Foundation’s core values of integrity, stewardship, respect, independence and community.

The Foundation seeks applicants from our alumni who represent Gerry Bruce’s qualities and vision of leadership, including:

*  Significant professional achievement and an entrepreneurial spirit
*  Civic responsibility and leadership
*  Loyalty to the core values of the Foundation in work and service
*  A strong propensity for “giving back”

The awardees are recognized with a plaque, and a donation of $5,000 made to a non-profit organization of the awardee’s choice. 

Past Awardees

2019: Margaret Hartsook

2018: Amy Van Wey Lovatt

2017: Brandy O’Bannon

2016: SreyRam Kuy

2015: Olesya Zhereilov Salathe

2014: Annie Tester

2013: Charity Thoman

2012: Todd Gifford & Tyler T. Smith

2008: Michelle Boss Barba

2007: Matthew Gerber

2006: Sarah Beth Byrum

2005: Bright Nichols-Stock

2004: Toby Luther

2003: Sheena Tseko