Alumnus Toby Luther and Dr. Joseph Robertson Named to The Foundation Board

The Ford Family Foundation Board of Directors selected Class of 1994 Ford Scholar Toby A. Luther, the chief executive and president of Lone Rock Resources in Roseburg, and Joseph Robertson, Jr., M.D., M.B.A., the president of Oregon Health and Sciences University (OHSU), to join the seven sitting Board members.

Dave Frohnmayer’s term recently ended. He served on the Board May 2004 through Dec. 31, 2012.

The Board governs the charitable foundation created by Kenneth W. Ford and Hallie E. Ford, the late philanthropists and pioneers of Roseburg Forest Products Co. Luther and Robertson were elected to the board in the fall of 2012 with their four-year terms effective Jan. 1, 2013.

Luther was named the first non-family CEO for closely held Lone Rock Resources in 2009. He is responsible for all company operations and strategy, and he provides leadership to meet the company’s mission and goals. Before becoming CEO, Luther served as the company’s chief operating officer, vice president of finance and chief financial officer. He has been with the company since 2001.

Luther received a bachelor’s degree in business administration from Oregon State University. He serves on the boards of Wildlife Safari, Roseburg Area Chamber of Commerce, Umpqua Valley Cal Ripken and Umpqua Training and Employment. In addition, he coaches youth athletics.

Luther grew up in Anchorage, Alaska, before moving to the Roseburg area in high school and was a Ford Scholar from the inaugural Class of 1994. In 2004, he was honored with the Gerald E. Bruce Community Service Award, an award that recognizes good works by Ford Scholar Alumni. Luther and his wife, Christina, live in Roseburg with their three children, Alexandra, Jacob and Joshua, ages 14, 12 and 8, respectively.

Dr. Joseph Robertson has been OHSU president since 2006. He has led OHSU’s strategic planning process, which has a vision to “improve the health and well-being of all Oregonians.” Previously, he served as dean of the OHSU School of Medicine and was professor and chairman of ophthalmology and director of the Casey Eye Institute.

Robertson received his bachelor’s degree in neuroscience from Yale University and earned his medical degree from Indiana University. He completed an executive master of business administration program at the University of Oregon, graduating as co-valedictorian in 1997.

Robertson was born near a small town in southern Indiana. Basketball and science were his passions. Robertson and his wife, Patricia, live in a floating home on the Willamette River.

“Toby Luther and Joe Robertson bring strong skills to the Foundation,” said Norm Smith, President of The Ford Family Foundation. “Each has demonstrated a life-long commitment to education, to their civic roles and to helping others. Each is deeply involved with their family, experienced in their profession and the creation of jobs in Oregon. And, like the Fords, each gives back through philanthropy to their communities.”

Other Board members of The Ford Family Foundation are: Allyn Ford of Roseburg; Dr. Knute Buehler of Bend; Karla Chambers of Corvallis; Joseph Kearns of Malibu, Calif., and Bridge; Ronald Parker (Board chair) of Portland; Wesley Sand of West Linn; and Carrie Thompson of Corvallis.